Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s been a while since I made a post.  I’m almost done with transferring my drapes into paper patterns.  Then it’s off to sewing the samples!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lately I”ve been interested in painting/drawing and I’m slowly beginning to teach myself the academic methods which I will explain later.  For now, I’m prepping myself on the painting side by making neutral greys.  It’s tricky making neutral greys but I found a formula for making them that’s pretty accurate!  Formulas are better to work from instead of guessing how much black & white colors to use every time.  I’m beginning to tube my neutrals.  Here’s the formula:

Value 1=  1 part white, 5 part ivory black

Value 2= 1 part white, 2 part ivory black

Value 3= 1 part white, 1 part ivory black

Value 4= 2 part white, 1 part ivory black

Value 5= 4 part white, 1 part ivory black

Value 6= 1 part white, 4 part value 5

Value 7= 1 part white, 2 part value 6

Value 8= 1 part white, 2 part value 7

Value 9= 1 part white, 1 part value 8

For values 1-5, add 1/4 part raw sienna to the mixtures for each value to neutralize the grey.

For values 6-9, add 1/8 part yellow ochre to the mixtures for each value to neutralize the grey.

I tried this out making a value #4 grey and it works!  The only tricky part is accurately measuring paint.  Still looking for a container for this.  Here is a pict of my mixed grey compared with the Munsell chip for reference.  A pretty close match. The picture skews the color a little.  So try this method out for no guesswork when mixing greys.

